Bye-bye Faith in our Families, Hello new blog :-)

image

Well I’m back. My time in the desert has finished. It was one of the most intense desert times I’ve had.

God has allowed me to face some intensely painful things in my life that needed sorting out. I can only describe it as a complete purging of things in my life that I wasn’t even consciously aware of. Satan hides very effectively behind our fears so we won’t want to look for him. But those dark chains of fear that held me captive for so many years have been forever broken now 🙂 Thank you Jesus ❤

I'm very thankful for the fact that God did not expect me to face it alone, and has provided me finally, after 10 years of searching, with the kindest and most patient spiritual director I could ever have wished for. He loves me as a daughter and can read me like a book, which is just the most enormous relief for me. Thank you again Jesus! ❤

image

Some very deep personal changes have taken place in me and there is really no going back.

One of the results of these changes is that I am changing my blog to concentrate much more on the interior life. This is much more in line with my Carmelite vocation and feels like the direction I should be going in.

So the ‘Faith in our Families’ blog has come to its natural end. From now on I will be blogging as ‘Listening in the Desert’.

And just to make it crystal clear… Everyone has an interior life. This includes the guitar swinging trouser nun, the mother of 3, the burnt out priest, the sexualy confused teenager, the lukewarm guy who only bothers to turn up when there’s no game on that Sunday, the bitter old traddie, the divorced and remarried, the kid who just made her FHC, the liturgy geek, the old lady who’s understanding of the Faith stops at rules and duty, the dad who only goes to church to keep his wife happy, the Bishops, Pope Francis, and you and me.

image

I feel the interior life – our relationship with Christ – is something that is sorely undervalued and often missing from the lives of many ordinary Catholics, and sadly, some clergy. Many of us know about Christ, but we don’t actually know Him.

Many of us go through the motions in church and in prayer, but miss the depth and mystery of what is happening during the Mass. Many of us dryly fulfill our weekly Mass obligation, but miss that connection, that life changing tenderness that Jesus desires to give us when we receive Him in the Eucharist.

The Eucharistic, it’s all about the Eucharist. This mind-blowing total encounter with God. As Catholics we are so gifted with the sacraments. Let’s ask Jesus to open our minds and our hearts so we can really come to know Him, in ‘adoration, contemplation, listening and ardent devotion, until the heart truly “falls in love”‘. – (JPII, Novo Millennio Ineunte)

8 thoughts on “Bye-bye Faith in our Families, Hello new blog :-)

  1. Welcome to the desert Clare. But you time in the desert has finished? As the Eagles sang “you can check out any time you like but you can never leave …” A place of purgation and ultimate perspective – and something else. God Bless.

  2. Welcome back, Clare! I was in the Desert for 10 years, 2003 to 2013, and then my whole life changed, especially my ministry. It took spiritual direction and a “shaking the dust off my feet” (Acts 13:52) and moved to a new place. Now I can serve the Lord full time! 🙂 Blessings to you and yours+

  3. I remember what a Presbyterian minister said to a Vncentian priest at a Charismatic conference a few years ago He said to the Catholic priest, ‘if I believed what you believe about the real presence, I’d never leave this place’.

Leave a Reply

