As I head off to Rome…

VSTourist_F_B

I am about to fulfil one of my life ambitions today. I’M GOING TO ROME!!! First time ever. I’m V. excited.

Although all that got put on hold this morning when I awoke to shouts of “MUUUUUMMM!” I ran into my 6 year olds room to discover that she had almost completely re-decorated her room with vomit. Great. As if i wasn’t worried enough about leaving my husband to look after the 3 kids – now one of them is sick.

At least this worry can now replace the ridiculously creative negative fantasies i’ve been experiencing with increasing velocity over the last few days.

  1. What if this headache I have right now is actually a brain aneurysm, and flying at high altitude will be the last straw and it will pop mid flight?
  2. What if during the synod Satan really does claim his seat in the Vatican and I have to fight my way out of a hoard of zombie like evil cardinals – all hellbent on destroying my soul?
  3. What if there is a sudden influx of 19-24 year old male refugees who descend on Rome forcing the airport to close and my passport gets stolen, and I lose my friends, and blah blah blah.

It’s not easy having an over active imagination. And don’t tell me God won’t let anything happen to me while I travel – just ask Teresa of Avila. Donkey. Ditch. “If this is the way You treat your friends no wonder you don’t have many” ect…

OMGosh it’s 1pm already. OK got to finish hurling things into the smallest suitcase in the world and get to Gatwick ASAP. Oh and by the way… there is a pretty good chance I am going to be doing one of the bidding prayers at the canonization Mass on Sunday morning. It is being televised to like a billion people on EWTN.

Please pray I don’t say ‘immorality’ instead of ‘immortality’, or fall over on the way up to the ambo, or do a Marilyn Monroe if it is windy. And if it is windy I wont wear the mantilla. I don’t want it wrapping itself round my head like a turban during the bidding prayers.

Actually I do have a really nice white dress I want to wear, but i don’t want to upstage the Pope. OH! Catholic problems!!!

If I make my flight you’ll be hearing more stories soon 😉

2 thoughts on “As I head off to Rome…

Leave a Reply

