Corpus Christi: Into the mouths of babes.

Catholic faithful take Holy Communion and pray for the safety of kidnapped Chibok school girls during a morning Mass given in honour of the schoolgirls, in Abuja, Nigeria, Sunday May 11, 2014.   The failure to rescue the kidnapped girl students who remain captive after some four weeks has attracted mounting national and international outrage, and one of the teenagers who escaped from the Islamic extremists who abducted the hundreds of schoolgirls, science student Sarah Lawan said Sunday in an interview with The Associated Press the kidnapping was "too terrifying for words". (AP Photo/Sunday Alamba)

Let me ask you a question: Do you hunger for the Eucharist?

Today is the feast of Corpus Christi – the Body of Christ. The priest at mass today asked this same question. He brought to attention the fact that many do not hunger, but just go through the motions each week at mass. He went on to talk about how we approach Jesus in the Eucharist and whether we are ready to receive Him. Whether we are really aware that it is God that we are approaching.

Speaking as someone who experiences constant ravenous hunger for the Eucharist, I found this really eye opening. I have always thought of this ravenous hunger, this insatiable longing as a negative thing. But after hearing what he said I guess it is not a bad thing at all, but instead it actually gives great glory to the God whom I crave for so much.

For some reason all these things together made me think of feeding my babies. When they would toddle up to me and pull on my leg, looking up at me wide eyed – expecting me to pop something nice into their wide open mouths! They always reminded me of little baby birds when they did this!

But when they did approach me in this way it never ceased to put a smile on my face. My beautiful little sweat-hearts, constantly pestering me to satisfy them. Always coming back to ask for more! Wide eyes, open mouths, longing to be nourished.

feed 3

I suppose what moves a parents heart the most is the fact that this little child is so utterly dependent on you, and is not afraid to show it.

Is this not the perfect way in which we should be approaching the Jesus in Eucharist? Wide eyed and open mouthed?

feed 4

An Eastern rite Catholic lady receives the Body and Blood of Christ.

As I approach Jesus in the Eucharist in this way I am not only demonstrating my complete reliance on Him as Father to nourish and satisfy me, but also on His priest who stands in Persona Christi – and whom without, there would be no Mass and no Eucharist.

feed 6

He is my Father, and I am His hungry little child. And I will keep coming back for more.

“And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” – Matthew 18:3.

2 thoughts on “Corpus Christi: Into the mouths of babes.

Leave a Reply

