Catholic Priest threatens Mum of 3 with legal action, because she told him off for saying that the Holy Spirit is female, and then he lies on Twitter about her!

Fr-Dan-Fitzpatrick

Fr. Dan Fitzpatrick

This is not a spoof post. This actually happened.

So my in previous article I wrote about how Fr James Martin SJ and Fr. Dan Fitzpatrick had been tweeting about how the Holy Spirit was female:

Father james martin

dan fitz

And how both of them had been sharing posts saying that ‘Ireland is for gay marriage because it is Catholic’.

Fr. Dan 1

And I gave them both a jolly good clip round the ear about openly contradicting the teachings of the Catholic church. Well, this morning I got a message from Fr Dan threatening me with legal action because I was ‘defaming his character’.

Fr dan legal 1

I messaged him back saying:

“Would you like to tell me the 2 statements that cause you upset? I would be happy to rephrase anything that is not correct.”

He messaged back with:

Fr dan legal 2

Edited out some of the abusive comments??! I did nothing of the sort! The truth is that there were no abusive comments to begin with. It is all there in black and white, clear as crystal for the whole world to read. There was however an extremely abusive comment from a lady who seems to hate me. I was able to track her IP address to Newcastle-Upon-Tyne. Does anyone know who Christine Wright is?

Christine right

Anyway, I wrote back to Fr. Dan saying:

“Again, if you tell me exactly what 2 statements are bothering you, I am happy to rephrase them. From a legal point of view, because I have offered to amend any offending statements, the problem can be resolved and there is no reason to take the matter further. Your solicitor will be able to explain this to you in more detail.

Besides, suing me because I pulled you up on calling the Holy Spirit ‘her’ is going to be rather difficult for you as what you said is in direct contradiction to the Catholic faith!

As I said before, the best thing you can do now is to admit you didn’t understand the ancient Hebrew, and stop listening to Fr James Martin. I’m throwing you a life line here! I gave you the chance to put your side across before I wrote the article. I’m giving you another chance now to redeem yourself. Don’t waste it. I will always support priests who defend the churches teaching. Come back to us Fr Dan. Don’t sell yourself out. I couldn’t bear to watch that happen to a young priest. All my prayers and fasting next week is for you xx”

A few hours later I was alerted to the fact that Fr. Dan had posted a rather bizarre Tweet:

Fr dan apology

WHAT???!!! I did nothing of the sort! What am I supposed to be apologising for?

I’m afraid to tell you that I did no such thing. This is a bare faced lie from Fr Dan, obviously trying to close down the whole affair because he realises by this point that I am not one to be scared off by threats or bullying. But wait.. there’s more! Then his best mate Fr Marc Lyden-Smith gets on board:

Fr marc apology

I’m sorry – am I missing something here?! Has everyone seen this alleged apology except me?! Can anyone tell me what I apologised for?!

Fr Marc is the other half of the duo ‘The PodFathers’ With Fr Dan. You can hear their pod casts at http://thepodfrs.blogspot.co.uk/

'The PodFathers' - Fr. Dan Fitzpatrick and Fr Marc Lyden-Smith

‘The PodFathers’ – Fr. Dan Fitzpatrick and Fr Marc Lyden-Smith

Actually Fr Marc seems rather pleasant in the above Tweet. Much more pleasant than he was last night:

Fr Marc 2

Hmmm… Where’s all your feel good peace and love gone Fr. Marc?

And then of course there was this:

Fr Dan seen sense

I’m not sure Faith in Our Families has ever been described as an offensive blog before?! But I guess there is a first time for everything! I also guess it’s good news that I have ‘seen sense’ and deleted all these fictitious libellous comments!

Please – Fr Dan, could you produce these libellous comments for us all to see? No, I didn’t think so.

What appalling behaviour from 2 Catholic priests. It’s just embarrassing. I will be speaking to their Bishop.

Well, time is ticking on. There is only a few hours left until midnight, when Fr Dan will launch his legal campaign against me. Although I’m not sure what suing a Mum of 3 with a recovering husband will do to for his already damaged reputation. He certainly wont get any money out of us – as regular readers of this blog know, our family has not had an income for over 18 months now!

Someone please notify Michael Voris would you?! And the CDF while you are at it! I’ve got a headache…

52 thoughts on “Catholic Priest threatens Mum of 3 with legal action, because she told him off for saying that the Holy Spirit is female, and then he lies on Twitter about her!

  1. I think we should all copy your post and post it. I am happy to.
    They are simply confused:
    God is never given a feminine name, or referred to using feminine pronouns. The Holy Spirit is referred to in the masculine throughout the New Testament, although the word for “spirit” by itself (pneuma) is actually gender-neutral. The Hebrew word for “spirit” (ruach) is feminine in Genesis 1:2.
    The word GENDER here is meant for grammatical gender. I don’t know why. But that’s the truth. HOWEVER, since the Holy Spirit is GOD, and we know GOD to be a male and THEY are THREE IN ONE, we know that there is NOT a female part of the triune. What is wrong with this WACKADOODLE?
    Sigh. Come live in Texas Claire.
    I tweeted it too. Hmmph

    • Both in the Hebrew and the Greek two words are used meaning “spirit” — one feminine, the other masculine.

      In the English of course the word is neuter.

      The Holy Spirit can *sometimes* be referred to in the feminine — but the truth is that the Spirit is the Person of God having no sexual features whatsoever, not even metaphorically.

    • God is neither male nor female. Also, a group of men who got together about 300 years after the death of Jesus decided that both Jesus and the Holy Spirit are God. I would be careful not to mix up the word of God and word of men and consider one fact and other fiction. Logically, God cannot be male because then there must be a “female” version of God, or a female God. Since God is, God does not have a gender.

    • St Augustine said God has no sex or gender. To say God in His Divine Essence is male or female is to say He has composition and that is contrary to the infallible Dogma of the Divine Simplicity. The Church teaches us to go by the masculine pronouns to refer to God & said it is not fitting to refer to God using feminine pro-nouns. Never the less Feminine Language about God does appear in Scripture and the mystical writings of certain eastern Church Fathers.

      The Holy Spirit is sort of “feminine” in the writings of certain obscure Syrian Church Fathers.

      This having been said one cannot call the Holy Spirit Female or Male without violating the dogma of divine simplicity.

      • Indeed, God has no sex or gender in terms of biology as He is pure Spirit – He has no biology.

        However, He has revealed Himself to us as the eternal Father who has a co-eternal Son. As the Holy Spirit is the spirit of both the Father and the Son, and spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary, it would seem completely logical to refer to Him in masculine terms, whereas there is no logical justification for referring to Him in feminine terms.

        That is not to deny that feminine qualities can be spoken of in reference to God, but the same could be said of most men without doubting their sex in any way.

      • @Deacon Augustine,

        At best(or worst) I might call God “She” ironically. Such as in

        “She By Her Divine Will has only given the ministerial Priesthood to humans of the male sex only”.

        But the proper and ordinary use of language is the masculine pro-nouns.

        >As the Holy Spirit is the spirit of both the Father and the Son, and spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary, it would seem completely logical to refer to Him in masculine terms, whereas there is no logical justification for referring to Him in feminine terms.

        Well there are some Syriac Church Fathers who do refer to the Holy Spirit in feminine terms. It depends on the context. Obviously as the Spouse of Our Lady we would not use feminine terms. But of course in calling the Holy Spirit the Spouse of Our Lord’s Mother is not to be understood as saying the Holy Spirit is the Father of our Incarnate Lord either.

        None of this would be an issue if it wasn’t for the fact liberal heretics try to use the feminine imagery of the divine to justify women seeking the Ministerial Priesthood and then there is the gay falsely called marriage issue.

        The Church who is by ordinary and proper language Our Mother has ruled infallibly that only men can be ministerial priests and the Holy Spirit protect Her, the Church, from error.

  2. I cannot post what I think of him. I will pray for his conversion from his sins. Meanwhile, I pray that you will prevail.

  3. Since when has upholding the teachings of Holy Mother Church become libelous? I am astonished by the behaviour of these priests, who are, when administering the sacraments – in the person of Christ.

  4. I’m sorry for what you’re going through. I guess this is the type of persecution Jesus told us to expect when standing up for the Truth of His Church. Not my church or your church, or Fr’s church, but the Church of Jesus Christ. We conform ourselves to the truths revealed through Jesus to the Church He founded, the Church doesn’t conform itself to the beliefs we come up with that seem nice and friendly and makes everyone happy with how they want to live. I chose to be Catholic, I chose to “believe and profess everything the Catholic Church believes, professes and teaches.” I never felt like the Church should change for me, I decided that after 2000 years of being studied by the smartest people in the world, there might be more to it than I understood. There was and is.

  5. Yesterday, I phoned the Dean responsible for Fr Fitzpatrick to complain about him spreading heresy through Facebook and Twitter. He said he would speak to him but I don’t know what that means.

    I am happy for Fr Fitzpatrick and anyone else to know that I would complain about any priest spreading heresy. His facebook page was so bad and so far from actual Church teaching, I actually thought it was a spoof page like Fr Ted.

    I commented on his links saying that no Catholic in good standing would say such things and he deleted my comments and blocked me.

    You would hope that if he really has told his bishop, he would tell him to stop leading Catholics astray. We live in hope.

    As you say in your post, it is particularly sad because he’s a young priest. All the more reason for him to be be called out on his heretical views. I was also distressed by his posts saying he had his congregation pray about the football at mass. God save us from such nonsense!

    Sometimes I forget that such priests exist because my local parish is so excellent. Sad.

  6. Am horrified at Father Marc and Father Dan! Thought they were good Catholic Priests, sending threatening and bullying e mails to a Catholic for upholding teachings of the Church says the opposite

  7. Ms. Short, I am one of your fellow bloggers from “across the pond”. I have asked both Michael Voris and David Domet (he writes the Vox Cantoris blog) for assistance. In the meantime, would it help us to start shining the light on this? In order for us to do this we’d need to know the name of the church, website address, name of the diocese and that website address. We were able to assist Mr. Domet when a Vatican priest threatened to sue him for similar reasons. Email me, please, at janetbaker01@comcast.net. Thank you and God bless you. My blog, by the way is http://www.restore-dc-catholicism.blogspot.com

  8. Claire, keep up your good work of calling out error. I’ll certainly be praying for you. By the way, I am not an attorney, but from the perspective of my limited legal knowledge, it would not appear that you wrote anything libellous in the post this priest refers to. You were careful to speak in generalities and to use passive verbs. I suspect that when the priest consulted his bishop, if he did, he was told to try to smooth the whole thing over, which may have led to the strange Twitter comment.

    • I agree, that was my first thought. Fr Dan links to a few things that are for cause for concern. He shares an article explaining that the Gay marriage vote was in line with catholic teaching ad he links to Rohr. Neither give the idea that this is a man who thinks with the mind of The Church. This is sad because I saw him with Fr Mark at the Flame 2 conference recently and he was inspiring. Appearances can be deceptive….

      • Flame 2 conference? I am sorry, but given the current state of things, that is a singularly poor choice of name.

  9. Sigh.. These priests are taking souls w/ them, & doing harm to the Body of Christ through their pride rather than humility / obedience/ & trust to the Church (the Body of Christ) they made an oath to. Prayers they will return to Christ 🙏. Prayers they will realize that they are not only liable/ judged for their own sins, but being Priests, will be judged for those they lead into error.

    And where did they get the Holy Spirit is feminine.?.! No where in either the Old or New Testaments is the Holy Spirit spoken in the feminine- either masculine or neutered language.

  10. Wow! So they like novelties and innovations…The Holy Spirit is the Spouse of Our Lady, so He’s a HE. Ecclesiasticus calls “Wisdom” a “she” and it came from “him”, the Holy Spirit. “Thanks to her I have advanced;
    the glory be to him who has given me wisdom!” Ecc: 51

  11. The diabolic manipulation is astounding. Accepting your “apology” when you have nothing to apologize for and haven’t even made one. Insinuating you deleted comments, the “libelous” ones. Coming from priests against a layperson…it just boggles my mind

  12. You are a spoiled brat. Don’t fancy yourself a disciple because you gave birth. When you attack, expect some response. My guess is that you are a fundamentalist convert who converted to follow the right rules, rather than the person of Jesus. Examine your conscience – I suspect that you are enjoying this attention

    • My goodness, Linda! Don’t you have your undies in a bunch!. Since when is it “attack” to speak the truths of the Faith and to show the dissenter – with his own writings – the errors of his ways? And what do you mean by “right rules”? The ones that Jesus gave to us through His Church? “He who loves me will obey my commands.” Following the person of Jesus means to obey His laws. If you think there is contradiction, perhaps the one you’re following is NOT Jesus. I commend Ms. Rock for her stance.

    • Mighty judgmental of you to judge a whole person’s character and even to insinuate what their relationship with Jesus is like. You are free to disagree but don’t presume to judge a person’s heart and engage in name-calling on top of it. What kind of “disciple” does that make you?

    • Linda,

      The person of Jesus founded the One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic Church to be a mission to bring people to salvation through the Sacraments and observance of her teachings.

      “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you; and Lo, I am with you always, until the close of the age.”

      You claim that Claire’s sole purpose in being Catholic to adhere to rules rather than the person of Christ. I’m guessing you mean the teachings of the Catholic Church when you refer to “rules.”

      Honestly, it is impossible to separate Church teaching from Christ the person since he instituted the Church to be his (teaching) body and the apostles to be the instructors.

      CCC: “She is upheld infallibly in the truth: Christ governs her through Peter and the other apostles, who are present in their successors, the Pope and the college of bishops.”

      jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” So, if we follow His teachings which are true, we will have eternal life.

  13. I don’t want to weigh in on the “she said, he said” aspect of this. What I will instead suggest is that the focus has been entirely lost on a very legitimate problem: men and women are being hated by the promotion of the LGBT agenda. Only the Catholic faith truly accepts people who experience a same-sex attraction as part of their journey. That acceptance does not extend to how people might “feel” about their gender, but it does extend to who they actually are, as Children of God as male and female. The LGBT puts labels on individuals, and as they “come out” they are actually “going in” to label or category.

    The priests involved in this should be disciplined by their Bishop. But if they are not, read the Story of Eli or Jeremiah 6, and be comforted that God has a plan. They will cry out, “Peace, peace” but there is no peace. There is only peace in God.

    Sincerely,

    Fr. Christopher Pietraszko

    • In the meantime, Father, all should contact both the parish and the diocese and lodge their complaints. We have a solemn duty to speak out for those who are being unjustly treated – including Ms. Rock.

  14. The behaviour of both of these priests is appalling. I agree that they should be disciplined by their Bishop. But more than that – the insulting email that Fr. Marc sent you demonstrates a sneery arrogance that is completely toxic in a priest. These guys are after building their own reputations. They don’t seem to have the heart of charity and patience that a real devotion to Christ would bring them. By their fruits ye shall know them.

  15. Our Lady of Akita warned us!: “The work of the devil will infiltrate even into the Church in such a way that one will see cardinals opposing cardinals, bishops against bishops. The priests who venerate me will be scorned and opposed by their confreres … churches and altars sacked; the Church will be full of those who accept compromises, and the demon will press many priests and consecrated souls to leave the service of the Lord.’

  16. I agree with Fr. Christopher Pietraszko. Claire, you are in my prayers, do not fear those who can hurt the body. There are priests who support you.

  17. Claire – it sounds as though you are entering the world of the persecuted laity, an exclusive little group although it seems, shockingly it is growing in numbers. It is also it seems becoming international. I do not claim to be a member of this group although I know, love and respect people who are. Believe me there are times when I would do ANYTHING to alleviate the suffering quietly lived by these people. And I mean LIVED. It is particularly difficult to witness their children……..young adults who have grown up in homes where the Church and her teachings are loved and respected……young people who KNOW the teachings of the Church. Once these youth move outside the family home they are faced, in the Church of all places with the persecution of their parents ………for knowing, loving and living the teachings of the Church. Back bone is required to face up to these clerical bullies; back bone is also what the clerical bullies lack. It never ceases to amaze me how they underestimate the love some of the laity have for Mother Church and her teachings. It also never ceases to amaze me the lengths they will go to …….we are seeing more and more cases…..the tactics are always the same. I’m afraid appealing to higher authorities is a waste of time because often the authorities appealed to are also revealed to be part of the problem. There is a culture of fear in the clergy, good clergy form the main body of the persecuted, but they too suffer in silence. It all began with the rejection of Humanae Vitae and we are merely witnessing the logical implications of that…..Claire keep the faith and look after your back bone! God bless you and your family. You are an inspiration and you are also RIGHT.

  18. Bravo in facing down these despicable clerics…do not be intimidated.. You have the moral power of the feminine genius and nuptial motherhood on your side. All they have is an assumed pharisaical power over others which is antithetical to their ontological reality of service to families in love.

    Sent from my Windows Phone ________________________________

  19. Pingback: TRIGGER WARNING: CATHOLIC VIEWS - yesimcatholic

  20. You have gone over the top on this on, Got your claws in and do not know how to let go.
    Not a good example of a Christian
    I will pray for you and your poor husband who has to listen to you day in day out, i bet ear plugs are top of his shopping list every week.
    I can say this as i am not a christian. Thanks to people like you.

  21. I have one question. Threatening to sue over this one exchange seems over the top but is more going on? Have you had run ins with him at the parish?

  22. It must have been difficult, but what I like about this that you took the right approach: You laid out your case with evidence rather than simply complaining, you faced it in a practical and straightforward way without cowering down or merely positioning yourself as a victim, and you kept the argument focused on the essential points. If more of us would do this, I think a great amount of good could be done in the world.

  23. What wickedness! These priests’ evil is egregious. They are heading to eternal damnation if they refuse to repent and convert. They ought never have been in a seminary, never mind have been ordained so that they could corrupt their al’s and faith ofany souls. But then, we all know the depraved heretics of homo-Mafia infamy have controlled the seminaries for many decades, progressing the sinful heretics and getting rid of the faithful, the holy, those who want to obey Gods commandments and save souls. If the bishop cared anything for the offence against God and the threat to souls, he would take these out of ministry until they have repented and converted. They clearly have no fear of the Lord, nor the special place in hell for ordained men such as themselves. Blessed Michael, the Archangel, defend us in battle . . .

  24. Pingback: Faith In Our Families blog round-up 2015. Best year yet! | Faith in our Families

Leave a Reply

