THE MASS: 2015 – Will you take the Red Pill or Blue Pill?

Happy New Year 2015!!

What an Iconic film clip! I love that scene. It has so many parallels with our faith. Of course we are all slaves, born into the bondage of original sin. Our whole lives are a search for the truth.

The truth is of course that God exists, and He loves us. We know this because He sent His only son to die for us so that we may have a route to eternal life with Him. We celebrate this fact at every single Mass we go to.

I am so excited about learning more about the Mass. I really do not know very much at all at the moment because no-one has ever taught me – which I feel puts me in the perfect position to be sharing this journey with the rest of you. I bet that 90% of the readers of this blog know about as much as I do about the Mass (excluding of course the Priests who read this blog – and probably those lucky enough to be educated before 1965.)

I’m going to be using the CCC, the GIRM and the Roman Lectionary as reference points, and I am speaking behind the scenes to Priests about each blog post – just to make sure what I’m writing is correct. Of course it is not going to be a series of lectures – more a diary of my own understanding.

I will be looking at the different forms of the Mass: Novus Ordo, Tridentine, and also the Eastern rite, the Ordinatriate and the different religious orders: Dominican, Carmelite etc. I will be seeing how the Mass has changed over time, and how this has change the Mass. I will be discovering beauty and why this is important during Mass. And I will be discovering what is going in on in peoples minds and hearts during Mass, especially in the minds and hearts of our Priests. And many other things besides…

I’m very much looking forward to this, but there is also a part of me that is slightly hesitant. The Mass is the highest form of truth we have on earth. At the moment i’m quite comfortable in what I know and what I don’t know. I realise that there are some things I am going to be investigating that are not going to be easy to write about. I realise that by blogging about the Mass at all, I am stirring a hornets nest because people are very, very touchy about this subject.

I hope I do a good job. I choose the Red Pill…

red_pill

8 thoughts on “THE MASS: 2015 – Will you take the Red Pill or Blue Pill?

  1. Clare, congratulations on this project. Another excellent resource for your study is “The Spirit of the Liturgy” by Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI. Good luck in your journey towards the beauty of the Liturgy!

  2. I’ve been a daily Mass goer for over 40 years and am still learning of the beauty and sacredness of this Holy Sacrifice. Most of what I have learned is from reading the lives of the Saints and what they wrote or believed about the Mass. God bless your undertaking of this apostolate. May Our Lady of the Eucharist guide you!

  3. Reblogged this on Deaconjohn1987's Blog and commented:
    I’ve been a daily Mass goer for over 40 years and am still learning of the beauty and sacredness of this Holy Sacrifice. Most of what I have learned is from reading the lives of the Saints and what they wrote or believed about the Mass. God bless your undertaking of this apostolate. May Our Lady of the Eucharist guide you!

  4. Pingback: THE MASS: 2015 - Will you take the Red Pill or Blue Pill? | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

