I had the weirdest dream last night…

I was so exhausted last night. I fell asleep in my clothes, face down in the middle of a chapter of John Paul II Love and Responsibility. I had the weirdest dream…

We were in the park and suddenly the ground started splitting like this:

quake

And then magma started coming up out of the cracks in the ground like this:

1476-9699

There were so many people everywhere and they were all running around hysterical and panicking, trying to get away from what seemed to be the end of the world. But I was ready! I had been over this scenario so many times in my mind I knew exactly what to do – I had to get to my church. I walked my kids up the hill to the church where we saw hundreds of people desperately trying to climb over the wall to get into the church grounds. 

Germany Love Parade Deaths

We were able to walk straight in because we are regular parishioners (!) and they knew us. Inside the church grounds people were calmly sitting on the ground in their families just waiting. Everyone knew they were safe inside the grounds from the chaos that was happening outside the walls. But then the ground started splitting inside the church grounds:

earthquake

And the church itself started crumbling and collapsing:

quake3

Immediately when this started happening I knew I had to go inside to retrieve the tabernacle. So I left my kids and went inside, where a priest friend of mine was also trying to save the tabernacle. We worked together and both of us managed to extract the sacred metal box, freeing the tabernacle from the stone wall. We were carrying it out when I realised that only he could open the tabernacle, and he had to go back to get the key. Neither of us were afraid, we were both totally calm and knew what had to be done.

tabernacle

As we got out the church collapsed, and I was reunited with my children. My priest friend had started walking off out of the church grounds and people were starting to follow him. I knew it was time to leave and that we had to help him carry the tabernacle because wherever we settled in the future, the people of God would need Christ with them at the centre. 

Mad dream. Perhaps tonight I’ll lay off the cheese before bed…

8 thoughts on “I had the weirdest dream last night…

  1. Pingback: I had the weirdest dream last night... | Christians Anonymous

  2. Actually, I enjoyed your telling of this dream. For me it had some special meanings, like persevere and stay with Mother Church; stay close to Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament; and after the Warning (Illumination of souls), many will seek to enter the Church as Catholics, i.e., protestants, Jews, Moslems, and even atheists, but will there be enough priests and deacons to baptize them? Let us pray for an increase of Vocations . . .
    God bless+

  3. Reblogged this on Deaconjohn1987's Blog and commented:
    Thanks for your openness, Clare:
    Actually, I enjoyed your telling of this dream. For me it had some special meanings, like persevere and stay with Mother Church; stay close to Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament; and after the Warning (Illumination of souls), many will seek to enter the Church as Catholics, i.e., protestants, Jews, Moslems, and even atheists, but will there be enough priests and deacons to baptize them? Let us pray for an increase of Vocations . . .
    God bless+

  4. I had a dream somewhat like this a few years ago now, which also involved rescuing the Blessed Sacrament-it has stayed with me and I think about what it might mean a lot.

  5. I had 3 dreams last week. Each one woke me straight out of sleep, heart beating. In the first, the ground rolled and raised. The 2nd, just a single white drone. And the 3rd, a hanging, lit sanctuary lamp crashed to the ground as if cut down violently. I have never dreamed exactly in this way before, they were quite different.

Leave a Reply

