Transubstantiation in the words of an 8 year old.

epiclesis

Yesterday at Mass my 8 year old proved to me that God reveals Himself to whom ever he chooses. I also learned that i cannot do the job of the Holy Spirit.

Watching the priest during the epiclesis he leant into me and whispered excitedly “Look Mummy! He’s going to do it! – Look! He did it!”  

Then on going up to receive communion he says to me “Mummy when i have Jesus in communion i feel different. It feels like i’m really special or something.”

I told him i was very pleased about this and that he was right in what he felt.

Now i have never really gone through the Mass with him with a fine tooth comb. Even into adulthood i wrongly thought the point of transubstantiation was when the priest elevates the host. It seems my son has grasped things much earlier than i did! Through his purity of heart, simplicity and trust, my 8 year old has demonstrated that he not only knows about the authority of the priesthood and the real presence, but truly understands it and (through the Eucharist) is having a relationship with Christ.

It’s so beautiful. He is so beautiful. I’m so happy for him.

“…for this was not revealed to you by flesh and blood, but by my Father in heaven.” – Matthew 16:17

6 thoughts on “Transubstantiation in the words of an 8 year old.

  1. Pingback: Transubstantiation in the words of an 8 year old. | Catholic

  2. Pingback: Transubstantiation in the words of an 8 year old. | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

