Is Jesus really present in the ‘bread’ and ‘wine’?

this-is-my-body1

Corpus Christi – Year A

Gospel: John 6:51-58 

I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.”

The Jews then disputed among themselves, saying, “How can this man give us his flesh to eat?” So Jesus said to them, “Very truly, I tell you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood have eternal life, and I will raise them up on the last day; for my flesh is true food and my blood is true drink. Those who eat my flesh and drink my blood abide in me, and I in them. Just as the living Father sent me, and I live because of the Father, so whoever eats me will live because of me. This is the bread that came down from heaven, not like that which your ancestors ate, and they died. But the one who eats this bread will live forever.”

 

1454619_10152041718460661_1028550508_n

 

Fr. Sam Davey…

One day I went into the Church with a Muslim friend. I was showing him the Church and people were coming and going in front of the tabernacle to do various tasks. My friend turned to me and said ‘You know Sam, this is why I could never believe what you believe; that God is present in that gold box at the back of the Church’. I said to him, ‘why not?’, and he turned to me and said ‘because if I believed God was truly present in front of me, I would be crawling on my hands and knees.’

The feast of the Body and Blood of Christ is one of the most precious feasts in the life of the Church. It is a gentle reminder of all our saviour has given us. The word Eucharist itself means ‘Thanksgiving’. It is the most incredible gift we have ever been given.

Sadly, at this point in the Churches history, the Eucharist is often taken for granted. Many claim the ‘right’ to it without preparing themselves through confession. The truth is that none of us have the ‘right’ – It is a gift.

Horrifically, the Body and Blood of Christ is often referred to as ‘the bread’ or ‘the wine’. It is the actual Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity of Jesus Christ. Each spec, each small particle contains within it the equal dignity and rank of the eternal Godhead, something so precious, countless martyrs and saints have shed their blood for it before us. We can never understand what the Eucharist is fully, but we can express our gratitude and respect in the way we approach and receive this incredible gift.

profile pic

 

Clare Short…

Brant Pitre, in his book ‘Jesus and the Jewish Roots of the Eucharist’ pointed out that there are only two places in the Bible where the phrase “eat and live forever” occur, in Genesis 3 and in John 6. It had never occurred to me before to look at Genesis 3 to think about the Lord’s Supper. I had never considered any connections there. But in this quote from Derek Kidner we can see the connection:

She (Eve) took … and ate: so simple the act, so hard its undoing. God will taste poverty and death before ‘take and eat’ become verbs of salvation.” –  (Derek Kidner, ‘Genesis’ 73).

What an eye-opener that was!

The very act of eating in the Garden of Eden led the whole human race into sin. But it is also with the act of eating that God invites us back into relationship with Him. Jesus took the bread, gave it to His disciples, and invited them to eat, for “this is My body.”

Eating ushered us into sin, and eating reintroduces us to the fellowship of God.

 

 eve-apple

 

Thought for the week…

How do I approach and receive  Jesus in the Holy Eucharist?

 

Dear Jesus,

Help me understand that you are truly present in the Eucharist.

Thank You, I love you Jesus, Amen.

 

Download this post in A4 Newsletter format to use in your school or parish:    Corpus Christi – Year A.doc     Corpus Christi – Year A.pdf

5 thoughts on “Is Jesus really present in the ‘bread’ and ‘wine’?

  1. “‘She (Eve) took … and ate: so simple the act, so hard its undoing. God will taste poverty and death before ‘take and eat’ become verbs of salvation.’ – (Derek Kidner, ‘Genesis’ 73).”

    New meditation on Genesis at a time when I’m writing about Genesis. Thanks. Drusilla (http://lovedasif.com/)

  2. I understand the friend who said if he truly believed his God was in front of him he would be crawling towards Him on his hands and knees. I can share I do tremble and beg His Mother to hide me in Her mantle as I approach Jesus in Holy Communion so I would say to the precious friend with the brilliant question that I am in my heart and soul with every fiber of my soul crawling towards Him…then when God’ Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity are on my tongue and miraculously being
    consumed by (tiny)me He returns me to my knees
    in the pew as if carried by
    angels. My self is entirely carried by GRACE. At times HE turns so sweet (to the taste) on my tongue, but not a sweet taste of or on this earth. He talks to us in Adoration. I suggest going to Adoration and being “still” and knowing for yourself that He truly is God…he truly is Jesus in The Holy Eucharist. Yours from my little human heart, in love. Barbara Gomez

  3. IN T H E S I L E N C E

    In the silence of my heart
    I come to love You
    Oh My Lord
    To praise and worship You
    My Master and My Savior
    No words are spoken between us
    Only so soft a whisper
    And in my soul
    An outpouring of so much
    Undeserved love and grace
    For
    How often do I desert You
    Thinking You don’t love me
    Forgetting about You
    Oh, how stupid and ungrateful
    Then I am
    For
    Without You I’m nothing
    But a trembling reed
    A creature full of fear
    But,
    Your creature sure I am
    For this immensely grateful
    Oh You, fullness of my soul
    Reason for my existence
    Sole purpose of my life
    Object of my deepest thoughts
    My God and my Almighty
    I will serve You and obey
    Surrender to Your Will divine
    Embrace me with Your burning warmth
    Cradle me in Your Fatherly arms
    Oh, my well-beloved
    Let me borrow from Your Love
    Let Your Mercy shine upon me,
    Your poor and littlest child
    So, that with Your Grace
    I will proclaim
    Your Greatness,
    Your Goodness and
    Your Name
    Through my work and being !!

    Rita Biesemans 7-27-1999

  4. Jesus told us that all food is His flesh and all drink is His blood. He is therefore present in the bread and wine before the consecration and the Eucharistic celebration is a recognition of His omnipresence in all things, emphasizing the sacredness of every item that we use. We begin to live when see Him in everything. My prayer at the consecration of the host is, ‘Grant O Lord that I never forget to recognize your presence in all that eat.
    and at the consecration of the wine, ‘Grant O Lord I never forget to recognize your presence in all that I drink’. All this reminds me that God’s bounty should be shared and nothing should wasted or destroyed.

Leave a Reply

