Evangelisation

10-HOLDING-CRUCIFIX

We had an Evangelisation day in our diocese today which was really good.

It was great to hear all the initiatives that are being tried out within the different parishes and also listen to new ideas that people had to go forward.

I’m very happy to  hear that Sherry Weddell’s book ‘Forming Intentional Disciples’ is beginning to circulate within the diocese as i believe this book is going to change a whole lot of things here in the UK. To buy this book please visit http://www.amazon.co.uk/Forming-Intentional-Disciples-Knowing-Following/dp/1612785905

At the end individuals were invited to go up and say a few words… and me, being completely unable to resist a free microphone, decided to jump up and say whatever popped into my small yet enthusiastic brain:

It’s great that so many people are looking to go out into the big wide world and evangelise to people who have perhaps not heard the Gospel before. But it is much harder to evangelise within our own parishes yes? How can we bring people into our parish if the parish is not yet evangelised?

And it is great to evangelise within our own parishes, but much harder to evangelise within our own families yes? How can we be happy within our parish knowing that many of our family members are not evangelised?

And it is great to evangelise within our own families, but are we sure that we ourselves are evangelised?

Let me ask you a question: Can you describe to me your own personal relationship with Jesus Christ?

I’ll ask you again: Can you describe to me your own personal relationship with Jesus Christ? Because if you can’t you are going to have real trouble evangelising anybody else. This is something we as Catholics have to start getting really comfortable with.

I’ll leave you to ponder one of my favourite quotes from G K Chesterton which describes how Jesus should be the absolute love of our lives:

“Let your religion be less of a theory, and more of a love affair.” – G K Chesterton

…I’m developing a taste for freestyling on the mic!

5 thoughts on “Evangelisation

  1. Sherry’s book is great! As a convert I learned much from it when we studied it at CatholicMom.com. We please God when we take seriously the nugding of the Holy Spirit and tell our faith story.

  2. I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ because I receive Him, Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity, in what appears to be bread and is the Bread of Heaven.

    I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ because he became incarnate, became a human being and thus one like me in every way except sin.

    I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ because, reflecting the unity of the Godhead I have a unity with our first parents who sinned and lost us Paradise: I too, therefore, needed the salvation He came to bring all of us and to bring me.

    I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ because I was created by God the Father, as Jesus said He and the Father are one, He was involved in the creation of me, too.

    I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ because He promised He would send me the Spirit; when I receive that Spirit it is a response to His promise.

    (Hope that’s free of iffy theology!)

Leave a Reply

