5th Week in Easter – Year A

quote-let-your-religion-be-less-of-a-theory-and-more-of-a-love-affair-gilbert-k-chesterton-36053

 

John 14: 1-12

1 “Don’t worry! Trust God. And trust me. 2 There are many rooms where my Father lives. And, I’m going to prepare a place for you there. If this weren’t true, why would I tell you so? 3 After I go and prepare your places, I’ll certainly come and take you back with me. Then, you and I will always be together. 4 So, you know the way where I’m going.”

5 Thomas told Jesus, “Lord, we don’t know where you’re going! How are we supposed to know the way?” 6 “I am the way to the Father, his truth, and his very life!” Jesus replied. “No one can come to the Father except through me. 7 You’ve know me a while. Now you know and have seen the Father!” 8 Then, Phillip said, “Lord! Show us the Father. That will be enough for us.” 9 “I’ve been with you a long time,” Jesus replied. “And you haven’t got to know me, Phillip? The person who has really seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father?’ 10 Don’t you believe I am in the Father and the Father is in me?” Then Jesus told his followers: “These aren’t my words. The Father is in me, doing his work. 11 Trust me! I am in the Father and the Father is in me. If you don’t believe that, then put your trust in the things I do. 12 Listen! The person who trusts me will do things I do. He will do even greater things! Why? Because I’m going to the Father.”

 

In this week’s Gospel Jesus is preparing the disciples for the fact that He will soon be leaving them to return to Heaven. He speaks of going to prepare a place for them and then assures them that He will come and take them back with Him. Jesus goes on to say “Then, you and I will always be together.”

How do you think the disciples felt when they heard these words?

images

In the icon picture we can see the 3 persons of the Holy Trinity Father, Son and Holy Spirit seated around the table. But there is an empty place. The 3 figures are beaconing us – the viewer, into the picture to come and take our place at their table.

This is one of the best depictions of Heaven and of the Holy Trinity that I have ever come across. It shows us that God longs for us to join Him. The reason He made us and our ultimate destiny is to be with Him, forever.

Coming to terms with the fact that we are so wanted, so loved by God, can be difficult – especially if we have not been treated so well in this life. But it is the truth. God loves you and wants you so much, that if you were the only human being he ever made, He would still have sent His only Son to die just for you and give you a route back to Heaven, rather than risk spending eternity without you. This is love. This is the Good News. You are unique and irreplaceable and God delights in you as His little child. All He wants is for you to draw closer to him.

Why did God make you? God made me to know Him, to love Him, and to serve Him in this world, and to be happy with Him for ever in heaven. – Baltimore Catechism no.1 Q.6

Thought for the week…  

“Then, you and I will always be together.”

 

Dear Jesus…

Help me to understand how much you love me.

Thank You, I love You Jesus. Amen.

Download this post in A4 Newsletter format to use in your school or parish: Easter 5th week.doc    Easter 5th week.pdf

Leave a Reply

