The Mantilla Blues.

Don’t you just hate it when you try to do something to feel all ‘holy’ and God just reduces you to about 1″ tall? Talk about a lesson in humility! We had one of our little ‘chats’ today. ..

I have been talking to a friend about wearing my mantilla in church recently and so decided to take it along to the empty church this afternoon while i prayed the Rosary. I went and sat in the best spot in the church, just at the side of the altar on the steps – as close as you can get to the tabernacle. So the conversation went a little something like this:

“I love you. Look! i’m wearing my mantilla today!”

“I love you too. That’s nice. Why are you wearing that?”

“Dunno really, i just want to be closer to you.”

“Oh. Do you wear your mantilla in your thoughts?”

“Um… Nooooo.”

“Do you wear your mantilla in the conversations you have with people?”

“Um… Noo.”

“Do you wear your mantilla in the friendships you have?”

“nooo.” *shrinking smaller by the second*

“Do you….”

“OKAY! OKAY! I TAKE YOUR POINT!”

“It’s no good trying to hide under your mantilla Clare! I can seeee youuu!”

“Stop it! Stop it! *ouch*”

 

Oh Man, I have a long way to go. Your prayers would be much appreciated…!

14 thoughts on “The Mantilla Blues.

  1. wow. thank you for sharing this with such honesty… “where the spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom… all of us, gazing with unveiled face on the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory” 2 Cor. 3:17-18 🙂

  2. I had a chat like that with God once. and He seemed the most annoyed with me I have ever perceived.

    My oldest was about 16 then and headed off to NYC to do a prolife event and (being the control freaky – safety obsessed American mother I was then) I prayed and prayed and prayed for his safety.

    After perhaps my 35th prayer for his safety, I ducked into the Church and was quiet and headed into my 36th prayer for his safety and most certainly felt this message:

    “You need to quit praying for his safety and start praying for his effectiveness”

    It was quite a “scales falling from the eyes” moment as I reflected on the lives of the Saints and you know what their lives were NOT?

    Yea, safe.

  3. Hello 🙂 you are on the right path! There is a community of women who veil on Facebook called Catholic Women Veiling Devotion. Join if you’re interested, we’d love to have you! We post articles about veiling, encourage those who are on the fence about it, etc. We are a very supportive community, stop by and see what we’re all about!

  4. For me, wearing the mantilla in Church for women and for men like me dressing to my Sunday best serves as a physical reminder to myself that we no longer out in the world, but I am now in God’s house, and in His presence in the Blessed Sacrament.

    Some women, on the other hand who choose to veil, do so in imitation of the Blessed Virgin, Our tainted nature’s solitary boast. They seek to follow her example of humility, modesty and purity – as well as the Jewish custom of covering one’s head and Christian custom until relatively recently in unison with the Church triumphant and suffering- when they are near our Lord in the Tabernacle.

    In any case God bless you, Amen.

  5. My daughters (ages 12, 11, and 9) have been wearing veils for about a year, now, and not just when we attend a traditional Latin (Extraordinary Form) Mass. It IS humbling, particularly since we are usually the only women at an Ordinary Form who veil. But that is precisely the point–we humble ourselves before the Lord. I think if it were me and that negative voice started berating me, I’d think twice before attributing it to God. The enemy hates our devotion to the Lord and will do whatever he can to make us question ourselves.

    I’d love to see more women and girls veiling whenever they’re in the presence of the Lord. I hope that you will keep it up!

    • Yikes! “. . .my daughters AND I have been wearing veils . . . .” It’s not just them! It’s all four of us! 🙂

  6. Funny! This bears out something I read to the effect that it doesn’t do any good to veil the head if you don’t veil the heart first! 🙂 What I’ve found is that the veil helps me to make some changes within, too.

    • yes! yes, yes! that’s what I was thinking! wish I had thought of that line ‘veil your heart first’.

  7. I agree with the “veil your heart first”. I fought the veiling thoughts for over a year, then started a veil business! Been veiling and importing Spanish and French mantillas for 4 years now. Five years ago I would have laughed at the thought. God works in mysterious ways, doesn’t He?
    My friend Emily is doing a veiling series on her blog. You can read more about my story here: http://emilysestuary.wordpress.com/2014/03/18/our-ladys-image-veiling-karens-veiling-story/

  8. Pingback: Seven quick, gratifying reads

  9. Wearing a veil puts you in the game in a kind of automatic, forceful way. After all you had this conversation with Him! We start to question our motivations. We feel humiliated and judged (You can almost hear people thinking: (“oh…there goes one of those holy- holy types who think they are better than everybody else because they wear a lacy veil……I HATE them…”) Lessons from the Orthodox on this matter can be humbling, too. Personally, I don’t veil because I’m not brave enough to take the criticism it entails, and the berating the devil would undoubtedly inflict on me for doing it. Its really a very saucy thing to do, and I like to fly under the radar…But I admire those who can do it. Just like I greatly admire those who “skirt” (since we are now creating verbs where there used to be nouns.)

Leave a Reply

