There is no Room for Opinion in Effective Evangelisation

It’s good to be back! I have had a 3 month vacation from blogging whilst becoming a mother for the 3rd time. Baby is 6 weeks old now and my fingers are starting to itch again for the keyboard!

I have found this 3 month break to be extremely helpful in evaluating my own progress as a Catholic blogger. My aim in blogging is of course to evangelise – that is, to bring Christ to others. Looking back over my early posts I cringe somewhat at the content. I was full of enthusiasm and fire – to the point of seeming aggressive. Even worse I fell into the trap that snares almost all bloggers – I felt my opinion was important!

In hindsight my opinion has only done damage. Who cares about my opinion anyway?! What does it mean? Nothing! My job is to reflect Christ to others. Much of what I have done has reflected myself. From now on my posts are going to be less about me and more about Him.

Opinion can vary, truth on the other hand is absolute. Opinion can be wrong, truth cannot. Opinion is generally used to appease or oppose people. Truth has no agenda. Opinion usually requires lots of text to explain itself, whilst truth can be spelled out in a single sentence or even a single word or even with no words! Opinion causes division, truth unites. Opinion is rooted in human pride, truth comes from God. Opinion detracts from the truth.

During my studies I was introduced for the first time to Papal documents, the Catechism and I began to study Holy Scripture. Discovering these concrete references to the truth was like a breath of fresh air. I now had the chance to understand why the Church teaches what she does on relevant issues to my own life such as marriage, sex, and family. Most ordinary Catholics under the age of 50 have no idea why or even what the official teaching is on these issues. I once even heard of a woman who thought that Human Vitae was a vitamin pill!

My point is that if we have never bothered to study any of these concrete references to the truth, all we have to go on is our own, or someone else’s opinion. This can mislead and even damage people. If what I am learning is not the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, it is never going to entirely satisfy my soul; “You have made us for yourself, O Lord, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.” – St. Augustine.

If I am to call myself a successful evangelist then “He Must Increase, But I Must Decrease” – John 3:30. In my attempts at blogging I may advance the gospel, or detract from it – yet it remains far bigger than I am. We must all guard against an inflated sense of self, yes? “He must increase, but I must decrease” is a distillation of a humble heart. Are we pursuing this humility when we promote our own opinion? I think not – but then again, that’s just my opinion! 

Lord, teach me to be humble so I may hear the truth.

 

3 thoughts on “There is no Room for Opinion in Effective Evangelisation

  1. Great post. We can see even in surveys taken in dioceses that the opinions of others are taken into account rather than
    the Gospel and the Truths of our Faith. Recently a Pastoral plan was brought out in my Diocese after a long listening process which asked the opinions of others (through a long questionnaire) on what we do or don’t like or do in our Church. The Pastoral plan is a disaster as a result, it offers nothing of the riches of our Church. It makes for a depressing read. Always be careful of surveys etc in your Parish or Diocese. We need to teach what is already there in our Church and not pander to peoples opinions which come and go like the weather…

  2. I look forward to your renewed posts! Btw, “O God, who resist the proud and bestows Thy grace on the humble; grant us the virtue of true humility, which Thy only-begotten Son showed to the faithful an example in Himself; that we may never provoke by our pride but rather receive through humility the gift of Thy grace. Through the same, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

Leave a Reply

