Fifth Sunday of Easter – Year C

“…Love one another, just as I have loved you…..”

Gospel: John 13:31-35

31 When he had gone out, Jesus said, “Now the Son of Man has been glorified, and God has been glorified in him. 32 If God has been glorified in him, God will also glorify him in himself and will glorify him at once. 33 Little children, I am with you only a little longer. You will look for me; and as I said to the Jews so now I say to you, “Where I am going, you cannot come.’ 34 I give you a new commandment, that you love one another. Just as I have loved you, you also should love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

 

Gospel Summary

While Jesus was with his disciples at the Last Supper, he pointed toward his future glory following his death and resurrection where he would be reunited with his Father in heaven. He also gave the disciples a command: to love one another. But the disciples didn’t have to figure out how to do this on their own. Jesus told them to love one another in the same way he had loved them.

 

Relating the Gospel to our lives today.

How did Jesus love us? He was kind, helpful, truthful, self-sacrificing, patient, hopeful, forgiving – the list goes on. Is it really possible that I can be all these things to the people around me? The answer of course is yes – but it is not easy. Sometimes it is difficult to love our neighbour if we don’t particularly like them. They may have hurt us. They may hate us. They may hold very different beliefs and values to us. But the commandment is still there – “Love one another just as I have loved you…”

Perhaps the best place to start when we are faced with loving someone we don’t like is to understand what it means to love and to be loved. For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. – John 3:16.

Do I love anyone enough to give up my child for them? Um… No! But God did that for us. And more to the point – If I was the only person God ever created, He still would have sent His son to die just for me and save me, rather than risk spending eternity without me. That is how much God loves and values each one of us.

If we can spend a few moments contemplating that every time we open our eyes in the morning, we will soon begin to grasp the infinite importance of each human being – even the ones we don’t like! Perhaps then we can understand that to ‘love one another’ begins with seeing that person’s infinite value – not by our standards – but through the eyes of God.

  • How much does God love me?
  • How much does God love my neighbour?
  • “If you judge people, you have no time to love them.” – Mother Theresa

Dear Jesus,

Help me to see the value of every person through your eyes. You died for everyone without exception. Help me to learn to forgive as You do and to love as You do.

Thank You Jesus, I love You, Amen.

Leave a Reply

