My Medjugorje trip, Day 2 – Honesty, Friendship and Turning your life around.

This is my personal experience of, and witness to Medjugorje. I would like you to share this post to draw more attention to the best place on earth, so that others may have the opportunity to fall in love with Medugorje, Mother Mary, and ultimately Her beloved Son Our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.

Day 2…

After a good night sleep I am feeling pretty good. After breakfast our group (of about 40) head down to st James church for mass. I feel like I have settled in a bit more now and am really starting to enjoy it. And it is soooo hot! over 30 degrees today.
I start chatting to a few members of the group and remember another reason why I love coming here. Everybody has a story. Everybody has a life back home and a reason to be here. Sharing each others stories is such a moving and humbling experience here. You find out in about the first five seconds that you have something in common and then conversation is easy! But the type of conversation you share is different from back home. Here there are no barriers. You can be honest – and more to the point, you can’t help but find yourself being honest about your life to the person next to you. The gentle atmosphere of love encourages openness. It also makes one aware of their need for inner healing. Simply talking to members of the group helps us on our road of conversion because we know they have been through it too.


I met someone today who is turning their life around. He says it was a miracle that now he is here in Medj considering what he has been through over the last few years. He spent this evening at adoration. He is so grateful to God for giving him a second chance in his life, and tomorrow he wants to go to confession. I’m so happy for him – and so proud of him. He kinda reminds me of myself a few years ago – but he is no way near as bad as I was back then! On my first trip to Medj when I was 18, I refused to even set foot in St. James’ Church! And I was dressed so inappropriately that an Italian Nun came and poked me really hard on the arm! (Mary Magdalene eat your heart out!!!). My poor Mum was nearly crying she was so embarrassed – but now thanks to her prayers, and by the grace of God, we look back on those days and laugh, and laugh, and laugh ’till we cry!

 
Today we also visited the blue cross. I was able to go up with my 6-year-old son who thought it was hilarious that mummy had bare feet! He climbed on the rocks and soaked up the atmosphere. As we climbed up to blue cross my son said to me “mummy, did you know, Mary is everyone’s mummy” “that’s right!” I answered, silently congratulating myself for the fact that despite the normal lack of enthusiasm and concentration that afflicts every 6-year-old boy, the information really was slowly but surely going in!
We all leaned over and kissed the statue of our lady and then said one decade of the rosary in English, accompanied by approx 20 Italians and several locals all saying it in their own languages. It’s amazing that the rosary has no language barriers. Then he came and sat by me and we said one decade together. It was beautiful! Something I’ll never forget. I know he is beginning to understand the gentleness and love of Medjugorje because he keeps throwing his arms round me and kissing me! (this doesn’t usually happen that often!). I am so happy my children have had the chance to come here.

7 thoughts on “My Medjugorje trip, Day 2 – Honesty, Friendship and Turning your life around.

  1. Walking with you Clare, remembering all the blessed times spent there, the people I have met, sometimes the pain of healing but most of all the love and the beautiful adoration’s…. oh……….. the adoration’s.

  2. I’ve never had the opportunity to go to Medjugorje although my parents went there 3 times. One of my patients has a daughter who goes every 6 months. I asked her why she goes so often and she said there is such peace there.

  3. Will be with you at the adoration tomorrow night on a website called mladifest which streams it live and it is so lovely, but it is not quite like being there. The atmosphere, the holiness and the prayer, just being a part of that catholicity brings us all into one in him who is, in the Holy Eucharist. But joining in over here is also a blessing as it makes me value the times I was there. Clare, please say a little prayer and place my future and next years study in his care. With God’s grace there are a few of us going next year to give thanks in the summer. Will be with you in prayer tomorrow, God bless, Joe

    • I watch on Internet the Rosary, Mass and Adoration Live from Medjugorje and it brings such peace remembering two pilgrimages to Medjugorje. Anyone who has the opportunity to go TAKE IT and learn what real peace is!

  4. Hmm it looks like your site atee my first comment (it wass extremely long) so
    I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly eenjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any points for rookie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

